I think it’s because of the cold weather but I have been on a baking binge. I had been craving chocolate chip cookies for the past week as well. I have a problem with my joints/muscles that gets worse when I eat gluten so I adhere to gluten free diet and I also eat pretty clean (I am really trying to rededicate myself this year, no excuses) so I needed to find a recipe I could easily sub and adjust to meet my lifestyle. I am a big believer that if you don’t try to live a balanced life and try to deny yourself what you want, you will only want it even more…and then it becomes harder to only have it in moderation šŸ™‚
So I stumbled upon this recipe from Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen’s blog off of Pinterest for copycat Mrs. Field’s cookies. Yum. Before I put my health above my impulses, I LOVED Mrs. Field’s cookies. They have stands in the malls here and the smell permeates the air all over and it is delicious. I was pretty stoked to “clean” this up.

Since no one else in my house eats gluten free and Tea is in her own food allergy bubble, I decided to half the original recipe. It still came out delicious. Even my brother who always interrogates if what I’ve made is “gluten free” (I always think this is so funny, there are so many foods that naturally are) tried a cookie and said it was amazing.
Here’s the recipe:

1 1/4 cup gluten free all purpose baking flour
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup Sucanat
1 egg
1 1/4 tsp pure vanilla (gluten free!)
a little more than 1/4 tsp of sea salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 bag of chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Combine all ingredients except flour and chocolate chips.
Once mixture is smooth, slowly add flour and then chocolate chips.
Form mixture into 1 inch balls and place on a pre greased cookie sheet leaving enough room in between each cookie. Bake 8-12 minutes, you don’t want them to be too cooked because they should be just slightly undercooked but not so that you will get sick šŸ™‚ use your best judgement!

***if you are trying to live a clean lifestyle, use eggs and butter that don’t contain any antibiotics or hormones.

20140108-160038.jpg

2 thoughts on “

  1. Thank you so much for trying out the recipe. I’m glad it turned out so well for you. Tell me what you think of using Sucanat in the recipe? What is that like?

    • It is a good less refined alternative to brown sugar although the taste is a little more overpowering in sweetness. I think it did well in balance with the chocolate chips šŸ™‚ thank you, I am so happy I found that recipe because it helped make some awesome cookies!!!

Leave a Reply

